Page tree
Overview

Mental Health Resources

While we navigate these trying times, our top concern is the safety and well-being of our students. With that being said, we are prepared to meet the mental health needs of our students during distance learning.  

Here are some helpful tips about talking to your child in regards to coronavirus:

  • Stay calm and encourage routines
  • Stick to the facts
  • Acknowledge the feelings of your child
  • Limit exposure to media
  • Give your child a sense of empowerment by telling them what they can do (washing hands, covering cough, etc.)

Here are some other helpful links:

Talking to Children About COVID-19 (Coronavirus): A Parent Resource (PDF, English)


As always, you should call Scott County Mobile Crisis Services: (952) 818-3702 for emergency assistance if you or someone you care about is experiencing a crisis involving the following: suicidal feelings, panic, hopelessness, mood swings, anxiety, hallucinations, depression, delusions, increased substance use, isolation or self-injury. In an immediate, life-threatening situation, go to the nearest hospital emergency room or call 911.

If your child has mental health needs, please know that you can reach out to any of the following counselors, social workers, and school psychologists, regardless of which school your child attends. You can also reach out to any of these people for more information about community resources available for your child. 

Please note that during spring break, our staff may not be accessible. If you need immediate assistance, please call Scott County Mobile Crisis Service (952) 818-3702.


Shakopee High School

Erica Lang Counselor elang@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5187

Nicole Drangstveit Counselor ndrangst@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5164

Paige Swanson Counselor pswanson@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5188

Tracy Caruso Counselor tcaruso@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5105

John Rose Counselor jrose@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5106

Beth Cordes Counselor bcordes@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5196

Kelsey LaRue Counselor klarue@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5179

Wendy Klute Counselor wklute@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5144

Brenda Geraghty School Psychologist bgeraght@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5137

Gretchen Haisman School Psychologist ghaisman@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.697.8778

Jennifer Mueller Social Worker jmueller@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.8788

Heather Schroeder Social Worker hschroed@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5156


Tokata Learning Center 

Paul Kelly Counselor pkelly@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5990

 

East Middle School

Joan Hunstiger Counselor  jhunstiger@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5773

Megan Morinville Counselor mmorinville@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5711

Peg Hilbrands School Psychologist philbran@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5712

Carol Geesey Social Worker cgeesey@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5725


West Middle School

Erin Richter Counselor erichter@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5739

Amy Gerster Counselor agerster@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5723

Harold Armstrong Social Worker harmstro@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5764


Eagle Creek Elementary

Sara Bingham School Psychologist sbingham@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5940

Lori Thomas Social Worker lthomas@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5939


Jackson Elementary

Deann Gendlin Social Worker dgendlin@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5806


Red Oak Elementary

Sara Bingham School Psychologist sbingham@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5940

Karla Thompson Social Worker kthompso@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5956


Sun Path Elementary

Kelsi Dankey-Henningsen Social Worker khenningsen@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5896


Sweeney Elementary

Gretchen Haisman School Psychologist ghaisman@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.697.8778

Peg Hilbrands School Psychologist philbran@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5712

Jennifer Peterson Social Worker jpeterson@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5836


Central Family Center

Sally Stockey Social Worker sstockey@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5081

Cortney Olson School Psychologist colson@shakopee.k12.mn.us 952.496.5021