Before moving files or folders to a shared drive, consider the following points:
- Moving files and folders to a shared drive changes ownership from the user to the shared drive.
- When you move a file to a shared drive, only members of the shared drive and people the file is directly shared with can access the file.
- If the original owner of a file is in your organization but not a member of the shared drive, they lose ownership but can still access the file as its creator.
- Files moved to a shared drive don’t remain in other Drive locations, such as My Drive, but are still accessible from the user's Shared with me and Recent views.