Page tree

Overview

Shared drives are currently in a limited deployment pilot.

Not all vendors currently support shared drives.


What are shared drives?

You can use shared drives in Google Drive to store, search, and access files with a team. Shared drive files belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay in place so your team can keep sharing information and work anywhere, from any device.

Shared drives should be used as often as possible. Curriculum, long term planning, and any other important institutional data should be kept in a shared drive.

Need more help?

Need help? Submit a ticket to the help desk.

Create via email: Email WHD

Or, call extension 5100.

Naming Design

Google allows for duplicate drive names, this causes confusion for staff with possible access to multiple same named drives.  To prevent following naming schema has been designed.

  • Naming standard: "[Building Initial or Department] Purpose"
  • e.g. "HS AP Chemistry Curriculum" or "ITS Rollout Planning"

Security Design

  • Shared drives are intended to share files internally.
    • Outside sharing is disabled by default.
      • This is to ensure data loss prevention. Private, confidential district data should never unintentionally be shared out.
    • By request a shared drive can have external sharing enabled. It will be marked as EXTERNAL
    • e.g. "HS AP Chemistry Curriculum External"
  • Who has access to a shared drive?

    • The original requestor of a shared drive will be made a manager. They then have the ability to add other members.

    • Some shared drive membership is done automatically through a group. In that case there might not be a manager(s) - only content manager(s) and below.

      • For example, the HR shared drive has membership of only the HR group. Adding additional members requires opening a help ticket.

    • Membership Roles
      • Viewer - View only
      • Commenter - View and comment only
      • Contributor - Add and edit files
      • Content Manager - Add, edit, move, and delete files
      • Manager - Manage content, people, and settings
      • More Details Here: Google - Shared drives access levels